BIRDING IN THE PRESENCE OF GIANTS

Yes folks, I finally fulfilled a lifelong dream: birding with a celebrity birder!!! Or at least just a celebrity! Check out this eBird screenshot from my smartphone:
Screenshot_20170327-221359

Me and THE Donald Sutherland!

Wow, can you believe it?! Hollywood’s own Donald Sutherland, Kiefer’s dad and screen legend in his own right, known for such films as the film of the show MASH and those “Mockingjay” (not even a real bird!) movies, birding in MY county! What an honor! Yes, I suppose I didn’t actually meet him, since Panguitch is all the way at the other side of the county, 92 miles away. But still, the feeling of sharing “the field” with him is something I’ll always cherish. For such an American icon to choose to look for birds in this remote part of the country, possibly because my interesting blog inspired him, I am truly humbled.
donald_sutherland_435x290

I couldn’t find any photos of him birding, which is nice that the paparazzi would know not to disturb him during such times.

I will point out that if you take a look at the species totals on that day, you will notice that I saw nearly 5 times as many birds as Mr. Sutherland, merely from my backyard alone, while he was out on a trail.
20170330_072934

No contest.

I’ll further note that this may not have been the celebrity Donald Sutherland, and instead just some regular birder with the same name, in which case, apologies. I’d still love to meet the real Donald Sutherland, though!

This entry was posted in BIRDING, BIRDS, BIRDWATCHING, CELEBRITIES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BIRDING IN THE PRESENCE OF GIANTS

  1. Additional further note: turns out Donald Sutherland is actually Canadian, not American. Fooled me!

    Like

  2. Depressing further note: it seems the real Donald Sutherland actually passed away several years ago. My condolences to his family, especially Kiefer.

    Like

  3. Ellen says:

    😂😂😂 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

